The Junior Team award went to Kaipara Wolves Rugby, winners of Northland Under 18 Championship

Double wins in sports awards

by Paul Campbell

Shooting and squash have topped the list in this year’s Kaipara District Sports Awards with shooter Richard Westlake and squash player Annemarie Holst each taking out two major awards at a Maungaturoto Country Club presentation last Saturday.

Supreme Award winner and also Sportsman of the Year, Richard was selected as one of five top shooters to represent New Zealand at the World Skeet Championship in Texas where they placed second. He’s also the Australian National 4-10 championship winner and the North Island Commonwealth skeet champion. In squash competition, Sportswoman of the Year and also Junior Sportsperson of the Year, Annmarie played in the New Zealand Junior Team in the Oceania Under 19 Age Group Test match against Australia and won all of her games in straight sets.

She placed fourth in the Under 19 Girls Oceania Junior Championship, and is the top-seeded player for the Northland Junior Girls team and won the Northland Junior Girls Championship Tournament.

Ming Ming Edgar was named Disabled Sportsperson of the Year as a member of the NZ Cricket Blindcaps who is playing Bangladesh and South Africa later this year. He placed first in the North Island Bench Press in the open division and first in the Northland Bench Press open weightlifting.

Emma Foy won best achievement award as a Paralympian, and at the UCI Para-Cycling Track World Championships, Emma with her sighted pilot, Hannah van Kampen became world champions and set the fastest time in the women’s three-kilometre individual pursuit.

The team of the year award went to Mangawhai Nobilo Pennants Golf Team team that won the North Harbour Men’s Frank Nobilo Pennant Championship while the Junior Team award went to Kaipara Wolves Rugby, winners of Northland Under 18 Championship — in the final beating the season’s otherwise undefeated Kerikeri on their home turf.

For a full list of the 2019 Kaipara Sports Awards, and sponsorships, go to