Local government election candidates

by Paul Campbell

Nominations have closed for local government positions in the upcoming elections, and campaigning will be underway with voting documents sent to all eligible electors from Friday, September 20. The election date is Saturday, October 12.

The single transferable voting (STV) electoral system will be used for the Kaipara District Council and the Northland District Health Board. For the Northland Regional Council the first past the post (FPP) electoral system will be used.

KDC candidates are:

Mayoralty — Jason Smith; Moemoea Mohoawhenua

Dargaville Ward — Karen Joyce-Paki; Brian McEwing; Ash Nayyar; Marnie Stewart; Jay Tane; Erin Wilson-Collins

Kaiwaka-Mangawhai Ward — Jonathan Larsen; Peter Wethey

Otamatea Ward — Anna Curnow; Craig Jepson; Wayne Linton; Ian Miller; Mark Vincent

West Coast-Central — Victoria del la Varis-Woodcock; Joesephine Nathan; David Wills

Northland Regional Council (Kaipara) — Penny Smart

The candidates for the Northland District Health Board had not been collated as the Lifestyler went to press.