Shooting star leads sport awards

Silver Fern Farms Supreme Sportswoman of the Year, Carlisa McCarroll, with Silver Fern Farms Dargaville plant manager, Lance Warmington and her haul of awards from the evening

It was with a mix of “surprise and shock” that clay bird shooter, Carlisa McCarroll, accepted a hat-trick of awards at the Silver Fern Farms Kaipara Sports Awards.

Her successful evening last Friday at the Dargaville Town Hall began in recognition of her achievements with a Code Award and then winning ASB Junior Sportsperson of the Year, which was followed with the Silver Fern Farms Sportswoman of the Year.

Carlisa has been shooting for four years and has also received accolades including winning South Island Junior Girls Points Championship with a perfect score and gaining a place in the NZ Open Ladies team. She is currently North Island Girls Champion.

“She is so courageous and will battle on even when she has been sick. She has a heart of gold, and even though she is focussed on her job, she will always step up to help others,” said proud mum, Cherie.

Among other awards presented on the night, rugby player, Matt Matich, was Silver Fern Farms Sportsman of the Year, athletics champion, Kirsten Mason, won the Pacific Motor Group Masters Sportsperson of the Year and Disabled Sportsperson of the year, Brennan Massey was awarded for his power football achievements.

Sport Northland’s community coordinator, Roxanne Kelly said the night was “a fabulous celebration of our local sports community and recognising outstanding achievements.”

Southern Rugby, Netball and Squash Club received the Community Impact Club Award. Club captain Chris Fyfe said he “was humbled to do so as I feel all the other finalists were worthy winners. Southern is a proud club with a history of 134 years, proud to be a club connecting people and a community together in Te Kopuru.”

Club president Evan Paxton was awarded a Service to Club Sport award and also recognised were Charles Samuels for leading junior rugby and Northland under-19 player Ethan Sherwood. Other service awards went to many individuals who have contributed their time and effort to community sport, whether as a coach, official or otherwise.

Official of the Year, Carlrine Gillespie — Swimming

Noel Radd Motors Youth Team of the Year, Rodney College Golf Team,
accepted by Mangawhai player and Code Award winner Tarrin Rous

Silver Fern Farms Sportsman of the Year, Matt Matich

Coach of the Year, Glen Smith — Swimming

Dargaville Veterinary Centre Team of the Year, Maungaturoto Mens’
Bowls Team




There are no comments on this article.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to make a comment. Login Now